You are here: Defra > Commission for Rural Communities > About us

About us

The Commission for Rural Communities (CRC) was established to promote awareness of rural needs amongst decision makers across and beyond government. In June 2010, the Secretary of State announced that the CRC was to be abolished and that Defra’s internal rural policy capacity was to be expanded to create a Rural Communities Policy Unit (RCPU).

From the 1 April 2011, the CRC significantly reduced its staffing levels and the scale of its operation, some of its work and staff having transferred into the new unit.

This streamlined CRC will carry out is statutory functions of Advice, Advocacy and Watchdog activity through its Chairman, Dr Stuart Burgess, the Commissioners and a small, flexible staff team.

The Commission has agreed that it will continue to act as a critical friend to Defra, particularly but not exclusively through its new Rural Communities Policy Unit and will have a modest work programme complementary to that of Defra. The Commission will have new ways of working and will utilise the skills and knowledge of the Chairman and the Commissioners to continue to support and help shape the rural policy agenda.

Page last modified: January 30, 2013